Voting in progress; Modi, Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh Cast Vote

By STI (Update)


Former West Bengal governor Jagdeep Dhankhar is expected to contest the elections with the backing of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance, while the opposition’s Margaret Alva, who served as governor of Rajasthan, is expected to be far behind .

Vice Presidential Elections 2022 Latest Updates:

Voting to elect India’s next vice president began at 10 a.m., with Prime Minister Narendra Modi among the first to cast ballots. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh arrived in a wheelchair and needed help getting up and voting.

CPM MP John Brittas was among those who helped the veteran leader exercise his candor. The two-term prime minister greeted those present with clasped hands.

Interior Minister Amit Shah and Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan were among the leaders who showed up early in parliament. Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP Chairman JP Nadda and Commerce Minister and House Leader in Rajya Sabha Piyush Goyal arrived together to vote.

Rajya Sabha Vice President Harivansh Singh also voted for the election.

Here are the latest updates on the vice presidential polls:

Opposition vice-presidential candidate Margaret Alva has arrived in parliament.

Bollywood actress and BJP MP Hema Malini casts her ballot for the vice presidential election. Union Ministers Hardeep Singh Puri, Narayan Rane and Sarbananda Sonowal also voted.

cnbctv18-forexlive-benzinga -Sp

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button