Shohei Ohtani Joins Elite Company With Unanimous MVP Selection | Latest News Headlines

Shohei Ohtani Joins Elite Company With Unanimous MVP Selection

| Latest News Headlines | Today Headlines

Has there ever been a doubt?

At one point, there just aren’t enough words to describe how amazing the 2021 season has been for Angels two-way phenomenon Shohei Ohtani. There is no historical comparison in baseball – and the closest is Babe Ruth.

So it was no surprise that when Frank Thomas announced the winner of the MVP AL on Thursday night, not only would it be Ohtani, but it would be unanimously.

MORE: Sporting News 2021 MLB Awards, as voted on by players

The unanimous victory made him the 19th player in Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s MVP award history to receive all votes for first place. Here is a full list of the company he is joining.

1935Hank GreenbergTigersAL1B
1936Carl HubbellgiantsNetherlandsLHP
1953Al RosenIndiansAL3B
1956Mickey coatYankeesALOF
1966Franck robinsonOriolesALOF
1967Orlando cepedaCardinalsNetherlands1B
1968Denny mclainTigersALRHP
1973Reggie JacksonAthleticsALOF
1980Mike SchmidtPhillyNetherlands3B
1988José CansécoAthleticsALOF
1993Franck thomasWhite SoxAL1B
1994Jeff BagwellAstrosNetherlands1B
1996Ken caminitiPadresNetherlands3B
1997Ken Griffey Jr.SailorsALOF
2002Barry BondsgiantsNetherlandsOF
2009Albert PujolsCardinalsNetherlands1B
2014Mike TroutangelsALOF
2015Bryce harpernationalsNetherlandsOF
2021Shohei OhtaniangelsALDH / RHP

MORE: Shohei Ohtani Won AL MVP Cost Sports Betting Over $ 1 Million

And if that wasn’t enough of the story, Ohtani also only became the 29th player to win both MVP and Rookie of the Year. Among this group, he is only the seventh to be unanimously named MVP and to win the title of rookie of the year.

PlayerRookie of the YearMVP
Jackie robinson19471949
Don Newcombe19491956
Willie Mays19511954, 1965
Franck robinson19561961, 1966
Orlando cepeda19581967
Willie mccovey19591969
Pierre Rose19631973
Dick allen19641972
Stem Carew19671977
Johnny bench19681970, 1972
Thurman munson19701976
Fred lynn19751975
Andre Dawson19771987
Cal Ripken19821983, 1991
José Canséco19861988
Jeff Bagwell19911994
Albert Pujols20012005, 2008, 2009
Ichiro Suzuki20012001
Ryan howard20052006
Justin verlander20062011
Ryan braun20072011
Dustin Pedroia20072008
Buster posey20102012
Bryce harper20122015, 2021
Mike Trout20122014, 2016, 2019
José Abreu20142020
Kris bryant20152016
Cody bellinger20172019
Shohei Ohtani20182021

MORE: 2021 MLB Award Finalists and Winners

Ohtani joins historic company with the award crowning an unprecedented campaign. He was third in the American League with 46 home runs and finished the season with a .257 / .372 / .592 slash line and he was fifth in the AL with 26 goals stolen.

On the mound, he pitched 130 1/3 innings in 23 starts with a 3.18 ERA, 29.3% strikeout rate and 8.3% walk rate. He’s the only player in MLB history to total at least 30 homers and 30 strikeouts in a season, and he finished with 156 strikeouts.

Breaking News Updates World news Shohei Ohtani Joins Elite Company With Unanimous MVP Selection

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button