Russia publishes new list of 43 names of inadmissible Canadians — RT in French

In response to Canada’s sanctions against Russia, Moscow released a list of 43 inadmissible people, including the president of Canada’s Liberal Party Justin Trudeau and the former governor of the Bank of Canada.

Russia banned 43 additional Canadian personalities from entering its territory on June 17, in response to sanctions announced by Ottawa against Russians to punish Moscow for its offensive in Ukraine.

This new list, published by the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, notably includes Suzanne Cowan, the president of the Canadian Liberal Party of Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, as well as Mark Carney, former governor of the Bank of Canada and that of England.

Measures deemed “belligerent”

Senior civil servants, political advisers and members of civil society have also been sanctioned.

Russian diplomacy denounced the “warlike Russophobia” of the government of Justin Trudeau and specified that it was a measure of retaliation against the introduction in May by Ottawa of “new sanctions against Russian business leaders and members of their families”.

Including the last list, more than 700 Canadians have been barred from entering Russia since its offensive in Ukraine began.

On May 19, Moscow announced that it was closing the office in the Russian capital of the Canadian radio and television station CBC/Radio-Canada and canceling the accreditations and visas of its journalists, in response to the ban on the broadcasting of channels from the Russian group RT. in Canada, decided in mid-March.

Ottawa, for its part, imposed sanctions on more than 1,000 individuals and entities from Russia, Ukraine and Belarus.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button