Skip to content

Key Economic Events and Releases for the Week Beginning November 1

| Business News Today | Today Headlines


It’s the first week of the new month, which means purchasing managers data along with the US and Canadian jobs report is available.

The month of October has come and gone, and with it the main economic publications of the new month restart their cycle. Traditionally, PMI data kick off the key releases of the month. Then on Friday, the US and Canadian employment reports will end the week.

Unlike last week, when the earnings schedule was also there, most of the top earnings have already been announced. As a result, traders won’t need to deal with those dynamics. US stocks are closing today the best October since 2015. Overall earnings were more favorable, although Amazon and Apple were much weaker than expected after yesterday’s close.

So what key events will drive the market next week?

Monday (public holiday in Italy, France)

  • Japan Final Manufacturing PMI, 0030 GMT. 53 versus 53 preliminary estimate
  • German Retail Sales 3 AM ET / 0700 GMT. Estimate of 0.5% compared to 1.1% last month
  • Swiss Manufacturing PMI, 4:30 AM ET / 0830 GMT. Estimate of 65.9 vs. 68.1 last month
  • Final UK Manufacturing PMI, 5:30 am ET / 0930 GMT. Estimate of 57.7 vs 57.7 pulmonary
  • US ISM Manufacturing PMI, 10 BC M. ET / 1400 GMT. Estimate 60.4 versus 61.1 last month
  • Canadian Manufacturing PMI, 10:30 am ET / 1430 GMT. Last month 57.0

Tuesday

  • RBA rate decision 11:30 PM ET / 0330 GMT. No changes expected
  • Swiss Retail Sales 3:30 AM ET / 0730 GMT. 1.4% estimate vs. 0.5%
  • Swiss CPI, 3:30 AM ET / 0730 GMT. 0.2% estimate compared to 0.0% last month
  • Germany Final Manufacturing PMI. 4:55 AM ET / 0855 GMT. 50.2 versus 50.2 preliminaries
  • EU Final Manufacturing PMI 5 AM ET / 0900 GMT. 58.5 versus 50.5 preliminaries

Wednesday (public holiday in Japan)

  • Employment in New Zealand changes quarter to quarter. 5:45 PM ET / 0945 GMT Esme 0.4% versus 1.0%. Unemployment rate 3.9% versus 4.0%. Labor cost index 0.8% compared to 0.9% in the last quarter
  • EU unemployment rate at 6 a.m. M. ET / 1000 GMT. 7.4% compared to 7.5% last month
  • ADP Nonfarm Payroll Employment Estimate. 8:15 AM ET / 1215 GMT. Estimate 400 thousand compared to 568 thousand last month
  • US ISM Services PMI 10 AM ET / 1400 GMT. 61.9 vs 61.9 preliminaries
  • Factory orders from USA 10 AM ET / 1400 GMT. -0.2% compared to 1.2% last month
  • FOMC rate decision. 2 pm ET / 1600 GMT. No changes are expected. The market will look for the Fed to initiate the taper. Press Conference at 2:30 PM ET / 1630 GMT

Thursday

  • Australian Retail Sales. 8:30 PM ET / 0030 GMT. 1.3% estimate compared to the previous 1.3%.
  • Australian trade balance. 8:30 PM ET / 0030 GMT. Estimate of 12.22 billion vs. 15.08 billion last month
  • OPEC meeting. All day
  • BOE rate decision and monetary policy report. 8 AM ET / 1200 GMT.
  • Unemployment applications in the United States. 8:30 AM ET / 1230 GMT. 285K vs 281K last week

Friday

  • US jobs report 8:30 AM ET / 1230 GMT: Non-farm payroll 397K versus 194K last month. Unemployment rate 4.7% versus 4.8%. Average hourly earnings 0.4% vs. 0.6%
  • Canada Jobs Report. 8:30 AM ET / 1230 GMT. Job change 157.1K last month. Unemployment rate 6.9% last month

Invest in yourself. See our forex education center.


cnbctv18-forexlive-benzinga -Sp
cnbctv18-forexlive-benzinga -Sp

Key Economic Events and Releases for the Week Beginning November 1

| Business Top Stories abc News

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.